NHS wins 9th national Outstanding Service Project Award at Florida conference

The Old Colony Regional Vocational Technical High School Chapter of the National Honor Society was awarded a national Outstanding Service Project Award as part of the National Honor Society Conference held in Orlando, Florida, November 7-9, 2008. Twenty-four students represented Old Colony at the sixteenth annual conference.

This is the ninth time and sixth year in a row that Old Colony has received a national Outstanding service Project Award. This year the award was received for the service project Button, Button, Who’s Got the Button? This project involved creating button brooches with senior citizens and members if a convalescent home.

Old Colony was one of ten NHS Chapters that received national awards for outstanding service to their school and community this year.

Nearly 900 National Honor Society and National Junior Honor Society members and faculty advisors from across the country participated in the National Conference held this year in Orlando, Florida. During the three-day conference, delegates attended workshop sessions on leadership, teamwork, effective student projects, and heard presentations from nationally known speakers. In addition, members networked with student leaders and advisors from schools across the nation, discussed social, educational, and political issues and exchanged ideas.

Members of the Old Colony chapter of the NHS attending the conference were:

  • Morgan D. Albritton – Acushnet
  • Kelsey N. Beecher – Lakeville
  • Chelsea E. Bonenfant – Carver
  • James F. Cafferty – Acushnet
  • Tania-Raquel Clementino – Acushnet
  • Robert P.Daniel – Acushnet
  • Courtney L. Deneault – Acushnet
  • Nicole M. Dexter – Carver
  • Kaitlyn C. Dextraze – Acushnet
  • Allyson E. Donahue – Carver
  • Lindsey J. Earle – Carver
  • Jarod N. Ferreira – Acushnet
  • Elizabeth A. Hill – Carver
  • Alizabeth G. Jackson – Lakeville
  • Kyle P. LeBlanc – Acushnet
  • Shyann R. McAvoy – Assonet
  • Stephen A. Mantia – Carver
  • Ted H. Mello – Acushnet
  • Trisha M. Mello – Lakeville
  • Magan Oliveira – Acushnet
  • Stephanie L. Pacheco – Acushnet
  • Holley G. Taylor – Carver
  • Brett T. Tchorz – Acushnet
  • Katelyn E. Weigel – Rochester

The members were accompanied by four chaperones: Mrs. Christine Watling, Mrs. Kathy Peterson, Mr. Paul Sleight, and Mr. Paul Brodeur.

Apply Now

Leave your options open. Apply today and make your decision in March. 8th grade students from Acushnet, Carver, Lakeville, Mattapoisett, and Rochester are invited to begin the application process at https://oldcolony.go2cte.com.

Address and Contact

476 North Avenue, Rochester, Massachusetts, 02770

Connect. Create. Inspire.


Scroll to Top