OLD COLONY REGIONAL VOCATIONAL TECHNICAL HIGH SCHOOL DISTRICT

476 North Avenue Rochester, MA 02770 Wednesday July 18, 2018

MINUTES

- Present: Mr. John Bandzul, Mrs. Shirley Bourque, Mr. Stephen Cassidy, Mr. Donald Foster, Mrs. Sharon Cruz, Mr. Richard Gamache, Mr. David Hughes, Ms. Nancy Souza, Mr. Maurice St. Amand, Mr. Donald Williams, Mr. Robert Marshall, Mrs. Evelyn Bouley, Mr. Justin Brodeur, Mr. Gary Mansfield, Mrs. Joanne Puskar
- Also:Mr. Aaron L. Polansky, Superintendent-Director; Mrs. Bethany Botelho,
Vocational Coordinator; Ms. Linda Deady, Academic Coordinator/Data
Analyst; Mrs. Sarah Griffith, Business Manager; Mr. J. Michael Parker,
Principal; Mrs. Jolene Costa, District Committee Secretary

Mr. Bandzul called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

All in attendance stood for the Pledge of Allegiance and a moment of silence.

Mr. Bandzul asked if there was any public participation.

The District Committee Chairman waived the reading of items listed on the Consent Agenda and a motion was made by Mrs. Shirley Bourque and seconded by Mr. David Hughes it was unanimously

Voted: To approve the Consent Agenda a. through e.

Acceptance of minutes listed below: June 13, 2018 District School Committee minutes June 13, 2018 Executive Session minutes June 13, 2018 Insurance Advisory minutes June 18, 2018 Policy Subcommittee minutes

On a motion duly made by Mrs. Shirley Bourque and seconded by Mr. David Hughes, it was unanimously

Minutes

Voted: To approve the sale or disposal of surplus property in accordance with District Policy NEPN Code DN as previously approved by the District School Committee.

Warrants were made available for review.

On motion duly made by Mr. Donald Foster and seconded by Mr. David Hughes, it was unanimously

Voted: That the Old Colony Regional Vocational Technical High School District Committee no longer regards the minutes of the following meeting as Executive Session:

June 13, 2018

Mrs. Bourque discussed the 2018-2019 handbook and the adoption of the new process to facilitate changes accurately and commended the Policy Subcommittee.

Mr. Polansky commended Mr. Parker for finding a discrepancy in the handbook and for his recommendation to strike language to ensure the document is consistent throughout.

On a motion duly made by Mr. David Hughes and seconded by Mr. Maurice St. Amand, it was unanimously

Voted: To approve the changes to the 2018-2019 Student handbook as recommended by the Policy Subcommittee.

Mr. Polansky discussed the items unanticipated 48 hours in advance.

Mr. Polansky stated the Grievance Officer in the Sexual Harassment Policy, ACAB, needed to be changed from Principal Mrs. Karen Guenette to Mr. J. Michael Parker. He also stated the Protocol and Guidelines for Management of Life-Threatening Food Allergies in the District policy, JLCDD-R, needed to be changed from maximize to minimize under Purpose and Goal.

Mrs. Sharon Cruz entered the meeting at 6:08 p.m.

Mr. Polansky stated there were simple language changes regarding the notification date for applications in the Admissions Policy.

Mr. Polansky commended Mr. Kevin Gonsalves for securing donations of 80 packets to support the financial literacy elective with no charge to the district.

On a motion duly made by Mr. Robert Marshall and seconded by Mr. Donald Foster it was unanimously

Voted: To approve the revisions made to policies ACAB and JLCDD-R and accept them as policy.

Mr. Polansky congratulated Ms. Linda Deady on her recent acceptance of a new position.

Mrs. Joanne Puskar entered the meeting at 6:12 p.m.

On a motion duly made by Mr. David Hughes and seconded by Mr. Robert Marshall, it was unanimously

Voted: To approve a rate of \$25/hour for the Secretary to the School Committee.

On a motion duly made by Mr. David Hughes and seconded by Mrs. Shirley Bourque, it was unanimously

Voted: To appoint the Superintendent-Director as designee of the School Committee to post and interview for the School Physician position and bring a candidate to the School Committee for recommendation of appointment.

The new School Committee member training date is September 15, 2018.

Mrs. Sharon Lacroix and Ms. Caitlin vandal were commended for their work on the Year End School Adjustment/Mental Health Service Report.

There was general discussion surrounding the report and the information provided.

Mr. Marshall requested a letter of commendation be provided to both Mrs. Lacroix and Ms. Vandal for their work.

On a motion duly made by Mr. David Hughes and seconded by Mr. Gary Mansfield, it was Unanimously

Voted: To approve the attendance of the Superintendent-Director at the Annual AASA Conference.

The Committee was presented with the 2018-2019 school calendar.

Mr. Polansky updated the Committee on the LAUNCH initiative.

Mr. Parker presented the committee with information regarding the White Mountains SEL Training.

There was general discussion regarding the White Mountains Training.

Minutes

The next meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, September 19, 2018 at 6:00 p.m. in the Cafetorium.

A roll call vote was taken to go into Executive Session for the purpose of discussion regarding strategy with respect to collective bargaining and to conduct contract negotiations with non-union personnel and will not return to open session District Committee meeting.

15 – Yes

The meeting was adjourned at 6:42 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Jolene Costa District Committee Secretary

Mr. John Bandzul, Chairman

Date